Scaffolding


This image troubled me. I didn’t know whether to convert it to B&W or not. It’s what I’d usually do with a shot like this.

Art is about choices.

The image is more powerful in black & white, and that was the problem. I didn’t want an image of power, I wanted on about waiting; about the endless hours of standing in place waiting for workmen to come and do their job so this scaffold could be taken down and once again stored away.

The scene is the Milwaukee City Hall. It’s Flemish Renaissance
architecture is beautiful, but the building was raised on a site that took Milwaukee City Fathers 7 years to accept when it was first donated to the city as the site for a city hall.

Anytime it takes 7 years to decide whether to accept a gift it seems to me that waiting is a big part of the city’s personality.

